Location and History of the Castle

The castle "Burg Rheinstein" is located approx. 5 kilometers (approx. 3 miles) westward of Bingen, down the river Rhine, at the south entrance of the UNESCO Cultural Heritage of the Upper Middle-Rhine Valley ("Oberes Mittelrheintal"), face to face with the village of Assmannshausen. The castle was the symbol of the castle-reconstruction period in the 19th century, the so-called Romanticism, because of its impressive location, and also its eventful history had many highlights.

The roots of the castle are dated back to the late 13th century. The archbishop of Mainz built it as a customs castle. Also it was used to secure the territory of Mainz in the fight against the robber knights of the other castles down the river Rhine. Its zenith was from the 13th to 16th century. Afterwards the castle fall into ruin around the 17th century. In 1823 Prince Friedrich Wilhelm of Prussia acquired the well-preserved stock of ruins and let it rebuild by the architects and builders J. C. von Lassauxl, Friedrich Schinkel and Wilhelm Kuhn in the style of the Romanticism. Therewith the 1st romantic castle garden arose at a castle on the Middle-Rhine. Due to constant succession the castle remained in property of the Hohenzollern famliy upt to 1975. On November 7th, 1975, the opera singer Hermann Hecher bought the castle "Burg Rheinstein" to protect that extraordinary cultural heritage against the takeover by the Hare-Krishnar sect. With assistance of the federal state of Rheinland-Pfalz, the charming Friends' Association of the castle as well as the so many interested visitors the Hecher family was able to retrieve the "Schlösschen Rheinstein" back from its „Sleeping Beauty“-status and to etablish it as a living cultural monument upon the Middle Rhine.

Essential Part of UNESCO Cultural Heritage Upper Middle-Rhine Valley

In June, 2002, the "Upper Middle-Rhine Valley" between Bingen and Rüdesheim, and Koblenz was erected as a UNESCO World Heritage cultural area by the World Heritage Committee. So an exceptional river-landscape can be preserved as a heritage of mankind.

The Middle-Rhine valley is characterized by the river, the transport rail between North and South, by a winegrowing culture back to the Romans, by formerly flourishing trade towns, which are attractive tourist places today, as well as by a unmatchable number of castles, what is proofed by 21 castles 65 kilometers (40 miles) along the river Rhine, and further 19 castles on the mountain tops aside the river and in different side valleys.

The castle "Burg Rheinstein" is part of that World Heritage and is a key player of that cultural landscape. It is a symbol of the castle resurrection during the Romanticism in the 19th century.

     

 

www  welterbe-mittelrhein.de
www  welterbe-mittelrheintal.de
www  welterbe-oberes-mittelrheintal.de
 
 

GALLERY
Have a look at historic pictures and engravings of castle "Burg Rheinstein"

 
 
     
Legal Notice

Lage und Geschichte der Burg

Rheinstein liegt 5 Kilometer hinter Bingen am südlichen Tor zum UNESCO Welterbe "Oberes Mittelrheintal", gegenüber von Assmannshausen. Die Burg wurde nicht nur durch ihre imposante Lage auf steilem Fels zum Symbol des romantischen Burgenwiederaufbaus im 19. Jahrhundert, auch ihre bewegte Geschichte hat viele Höhepunkte erlebt.

So geht die Geschichte der Burg bis in das auslaufende 13. Jahrhundert zurück. Unter dem Mainzer Erzbistum wurde sie als Zollburg erbaut und diente ebenso zur Sicherung des Mainzer Territoriums im Kampf gegen die Raubritterburgen. Nach der Blütezeit Rheinsteins - zwischen dem 13. und 16. Jahrhundert - verfiel die Burg im 17. Jahrhundert zur Ruine. Im Jahre 1823 erwarb Prinz Friedrich Wilhelm von Preußen den gut erhaltenen Ruinenbestand und ließ die Burg, ganz im Sinne der Rheinromantik des 19. Jahrhundert, von den Baumeistern J. C. von Lassauxl, Friedrich Schinkel und Wilhelm Kuhn wieder aufbauen. Dabei entstand auch der erste romantische Burggarten auf einer Mittelrheinburg. Durch Erbfolge blieb die Burg bis 1975 im Besitz der Hohenzollernfamilie. Am 7. November 1975 kaufte der Opernsänger Hermann Hecher die Burg Rheinstein, um dieses herausragende Kulturgut vor dem Zugriff durch die Hare-Krishnar Sekte zu bewahren. Mit Unterstützung des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz, dem einzigartigen Förderkreis und den vielen interessierten Besuchern ist es Familie Hecher gelungen, das "Schlösschen" Rheinstein wieder aus dem Dornröschenschlaf zu erwecken und es zu einem lebendigen Kulturdenkmal am Mittelrhein zu etablieren.

Teil des UNESCO Welterbe "Oberes Mittelrheintal"

Im Juni 2002 wurde das "Obere Mittelrheintal" zwischen Bingen/Rüdesheim und Koblenz durch das Welterbe-Komitee als UNESCO Welterbe Kulturlandschaft anerkannt. Hierdurch wird eine einzigartige Flusslandschaft als Erbe für die Menschheit bewahrt werden.

Das Mittelrheintal ist geprägt durch den Fluss, der Transportader zwischen Nord und Süd, von einer bis in die Römerzeit reichender Weinbautradition, von ehemals blühenden Handelsstädten, die heute attraktive Tourismusorte darstellen, sowie von einer unvergleichlichen Burgendichte, die sich mit 21 Burgen entlang der 65 Flusskilometer und 19 weiteren Burgen auf den Rheinhöhen und in den Seitentälern summiert.

Burg Rheinstein ist Teil des Welterbes und steht in großartigem Zusammenspiel einer Kulturlandschaft als Symbol für den romantischen Burgenwiederaufbau des 19. Jahrhunderts.

 

www  welterbe-mittelrhein.de
www  welterbe-mittelrheintal.de
www  welterbe-oberes-mittelrheintal.de
 
 

GALERIE
Sehen Sie historische Illustrationen der Burg Rheinstein

 
 
     
Impressum